Symphony No. 2 “Age of Anxiety”

7:30 pm Sunday, August 12, 2018
China NCPA Orchestra
China NCPA Concert Hall Beijing, China

In this concert, we will travel through time with maestro David Robertson, violaist Hsin-Yun Hunag, and pianist Orli Shaham to experience the changes that classical music has taken over in the past one hundred years. In Symphony No. 2, “the Age of Anxiety”, Bernstein broke away from the traditional structure of a symphony which consists four movements without any solo. Instead, he made it in two parts and six sections to be performed continually. He saluted Age of Anxiety, the epic poetry of W. H. Auden, with a half symphony, half piano concerto piece of music.

Learn more

Sunday August 12 7:30 pm Go To Venue
Support provided by:

Newsletter Signup

Get, the premiere classical music digital entertainment experience, in your inbox. Subscribe today!