Divertimento for Orchestra; Symphonic Dances from West Side Story; On the Town, Three Dance Episodes; Symphony No. 2: Age of Anxiety

8:30 pm Saturday, January 13, 2018
Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra
Petronas Hall Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Eiji Oue, conductor; Conrad Tao, piano

MPO’s centenary tribute to Leonard Bernstein continues with his Symphony No. 2 ‘The Age of Anxiety’ titled after Auden’s poem of the same name. American pianist Conrad Tao plays its virtuosic piano part in his return visit to Kuala Lumpur after his debut two years ago. We also hear other Bernstein works like the Divertimento for Orchestra and the three Dance Episodes from his musical On the Town. To close, conductor Eiji Oue charms us with the Symphonic Dances from Bernstein’s most popular musical, West Side Story.

Saturday January 13 8:30 pm Go To Venue
Support provided by:

Newsletter Signup

Get Classical.org, the premiere classical music digital entertainment experience, in your inbox. Subscribe today!