Andris Nelsons conducts Mendelssohn, Beethoven and Bernstein with Yuja Wang

2:30 pm Sunday, July 15, 2018
Tanglewood Music Festival
Koussevitzky Music Shed Lenox, Massachusetts, United States

Andris Nelsons, conductor; Yuja Wang, piano; Rafi Bellamy Plaice, boy soprano

Pianist Yuja Wang joins Andris Nelsons and the BSO as soloist in Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 1, published before but written after the Piano Concerto No. 2. The work bears the marks of the highly original genius Beethoven would soon become, but is a natural progression from the Classical style of Mozart and Haydn. To begin the program, Maestro Nelsons leads the orchestra in Mendelssohn’s elegant and fiery Symphony No. 4, Italian. Boy soprano Rafi Bellamy Plaice and the Tanglewood Festival Chorus joins the BSO for the concluding work, Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, an uplifting work with Hebrew text, composed for a 1965 music festival at Chichester Cathedral in Sussex, England.

Sunday July 15 2:30 pm Go To Venue
Support provided by:

Newsletter Signup

Get, the premiere classical music digital entertainment experience, in your inbox. Subscribe today!